Conversations of a Job Seeker

the-work-2166128_1920

Oh if I could get somewhere to work, I long for an opportunity to lend my time to help the fulfillment of a company’s dream. Excited I was until I realized what my time was worth. They told me it’s the system, they told me millions of others just like me were looking for such an offer, they told me to take it or leave it, they told me this was fair price and they told me since I had no experience this was the only offer available.

Who changed the goal posts? They told me finish with good grades and the jobs will be waiting, so I labored to come out on top, now I have graduated but the people I ran circles around intellectually are running circles around me financially. I woke to the sad reality that my wisdom did not mean squat if I had no money, my ideas seemed not to be worth the paper they were written on and it seems the narrative has changed.

They told me get a degree, the system gave me a degree but the workplace says I lack the requisite skills. It seems my years of study prepared me for a world that no longer exist. I am at a cross roads daily as I battle with the disconnect between my passion, my dream job and the rewards. In the parts where I come from the system isn’t fair, the job is not given to the most qualified, its given to the one who has someone that’s “qualified”.

Is this real? Am I stuck in a maze not knowing how to get out?  Will my circumstances change? Is there room for me at the top? Can I develop the requisite skills required to succeed? What if I never get the dream job? Will my time come? These and many more are the thoughts of a job seeker!

Dear Job Seeker,

The reality you speak of is meted on everyone, the person you have become determines your reaction. People with skewed values will try to game the system but you should be tough. The world will make room for the brave, the resilient and the unflinching.

Make up your mind to create your future. Your goals will not be given, they have to be taken. The system is quid pro quo, something for something. Learn the art of negotiation, value is as perceived by the owner. Your life is your own, your dreams are yours and it might shock you to know you might be the only one that thinks it valuable. So you must pay the price till everyone comes to the same realization you have heard all your life.

The streets might be tough but learn to do it hard. Develop support systems, invest in healthy relationships as a true friends stick closer than a brother. Turn your passion into a product. God gave everyman work, you do not need permission from a person or company to work. From today direct all your activities towards making or doing something, that is your God given right and as you do men will bring their values to reward your commitment.

Stop waiting around for a dream job work on your dream life, become a person of value, the job is only a formal acknowledgement of the man or woman you have already become.

Focus on the development of skills, learn to solve problems, commit to possibility thinking and never give up! Convert your knowledge to wisdom, apply yourself to solving know problems. The world is moving so fast that the man who says it cannot be done is interrupted by someone doing it, change is the only constant thing so be ferocious in how you assimilate information, you will lead if you read. Break into the dimension of inspiration by consistent action. Do not practice till you are tired, practice until you get it right and you are the best.

You are not a job seeker, stop looking for a job and start working on your gift. The bible says the gift of a man will make room for him and bring him before great men. The next interview you go to beyond a resume place your gift on display. The job does not go to the most qualified but to the most prepared and hungriest in the room.

Finally hold on to God, for your strength comes from him, pray and he will guide you and bless your hustle.

Commit to a daily routine to grow your mind.

That’s G.Y.M for today and I trust that you are charged up and obsessed with a burning desire to succeed. Ordinary is a misnomer for you.

Plan, Act and Pursue your dream.

Orezi Emeotu

#GrowYourMind Coach

Email: oreziemeotu@gmail.com

Twitter Handle: @oreziemeotu

Instagram: oreziemeotu

Facebook Page: https://web.facebook.com/thegymnetwork/

Telephone: +2348186210690

 

Leave a Reply

